Zacchaeus the tax collecter

Posted: March 7, 2010 in harlot church
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

But when they saw it, they all complained, saying, “He has gone to be a guest with a man who is a sinner.”  Then Zacchaeus stood and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord, I give half of my goods to the poor; and if I have taken anything from anyone by false accusation, I restore fourfold.”  And Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because he also is a son of Abraham;  for the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost.”- Luke 19 NKJV

The religous crowd of that day had nothing good to say about the saving work of Jesus Christ.  I was thinking that if this were to take place in America today, here are some of the comments you might hear shouted from the crowd after our Lord finished speaking…

“Lord – did you hear how Zacchaeus was trying to justify himself by his works, teach him the five points of Calvinism so he can REALLY be saved” ~ Hyper Calvinist

“Very good Lord, because that man has made a good moral decision he is now righteous in the site of God and so it is as you said, he has saved himself!” ~ Hyper Armenian / Pelagian

“Quick Lord, get Zacchaeus to repeat a sinners prayer and ask you into his heart before he changes his mind” ~ Modern Evangelist

“Not so Lord, this man must be baptized in your name only and come up speaking in tongues before he can be declared a child of Abraham” ~ The Oneness Pentecostal

“Hey Zacchaeus! Be sure to keep the Law of the weekly Sabbath from Friday evening till Saturday evening if you want to remain a child of Abraham by faith, I mean law, I mean faith” ~ The Seventh Day Adventist

“Teacher, would you please tell Zacchaeus to sign my one.org petition whereby we agree to work with all faiths (since they’re all equally valid) to bring about social change via government… after all, that is what you came here to do isn’t it?” ~ The Emergent

“Hey Zacchaeus – Why dont you sow some of that loose change you’re throwing around into my ministry if you want to reap a real harvest” ~ Prosperity Preacher

“Zacchaeus… Be sure to read the nineteenth chapter of Luke in the authorized 1611 King James Bible  for the only true translation of this conversation” ~ The 1611 Only Guy

There is nothing like an old fashion Zacchaeus conversion where by a selfish hell deserving sinners heart is filled with love for God and neighbor through the true person and work of Jesus Christ.  No religous philosophy can counteract such a work of God.

Comments
  1. ketch22 says:

    I really like this post… brings to mind all of the different false teachings out there. However, your modern evangelist caused me to think even more. I have not met a modern evangelist that wants a sinner to repent “real quick before they change their mind.” Some times the feel-good in church sinner does that out of guilt or something wrong in their lives that needs “saved”… however, in all my time in Church I have seen a multitude of modern evangelist truly determined to bring the lost to Christ… not just quickly, but deeply involved in getting the lost to not just come to know the Lord briefly, but also join house churches, anchor groups, outward serving, inward serving etc… it is taught/preached that it is a life change and a commitment to Christ we are looking for and not just a one time repentance. I am curious that you have seen these hurry up and repent evangelists… where?

    • fleebabylon says:

      Ketch-

      This was done at the AOG church I attended when I was first saved. It was really bad. One time they said “no everyone close your eyes adn if you want to make Jesus your savior just raise your hand… dont worry everyones eyes are closed so you dont have to be embarassed”

      From my street ministry with the homeless, and also listening to a lot of Paul Washer and leonard Ravenhill over the years, I know this is prominent in the Baptist and Wesleyan / Methodist circles also not just Pentecostal.

      • ketch22 says:

        Sorry, I will respectfully disagree with you. I don’t listen to a lot of Paul Washer as I listen mostly to the leaders and elders of my Church. I have rarely seen the “close your eyes so you don’t get embarassed” thing, but I do see a place for it in a Church that prays for people seeking Christ with their hands raised… even if those people have an aversion to attention being placed their way. If I attended an AOG Church, which I did in the past, and I wanted to know more… a good first step would have been raising my hand with nobody watching and having a pastor or Elder pray for me in private with me praying right where I stand. Not everybody can come forward publicly at first based on their personality type. I do, however, prefer no calling forward in service… but my way is not everybody’s way.

  2. ketch22 says:

    By the way… I truly love sharing Christ with you… you have really caused a mind shift in some areas for me over the time we have debated…

  3. Sean Scott says:

    “There is nothing like an old fashion Zacchaeus conversion where by a selfish hell deserving sinners heart is filled with love for God and neighbor through the true person and work of Jesus Christ. No religous philosophy can counteract such a work of God.”

    AMEN. Great post brother.

  4. James says:

    Good post. Very interesting perspective, I like the parallels that are drawn here. Kind of makes us all a little ridiculous when you think about how we all do this to an extent ourselves.

    Reposted at the Blog…

    Thanks for the chuckle.

Leave a Reply

