The temple crowd

Posted: February 16, 2011 in ecclesia, harlot church, Jesus
Tags: , , ,

And Jesus entered the temple and drove out all who sold and bought in the temple, and he overturned the tables of the money-changers and the seats of those who sold pigeons. He said to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer,’ but you make it a den of robbers.” And the blind and the lame came to him in the temple, and he healed them. But when the chief priests and the scribes saw the wonderful things that he did, and the children crying out in the temple, “Hosanna to the Son of David!” they were indignant, ~Matthew 21:12-15

Denominations seek to build their name up right along side of the name of the Lord.  These systems exist to make merchandise out of men while building up their own kingdoms.  So does most christian radio, the christian music industry, etc.  They buy and sell among the temple (the true Church is the temple of God).  Many pastors go so far as to put their names outside their building so that their own name may be great among the nations.

When the Lord comes to His temple He drives out these money changers and men of selfish ambition and the lame come in to be healed.  The tearing down of the false is so inviting that the lame and hurting come to experience the truth.   Tearing down is never the end but it is often the beginning in such a day as this.  The end is to make way a clear path to the kingdom of heaven that people may truly know the King who was lowly of heart and rode upon a donkey.  To know healing from the curse and shame of sin and from the curse of the temple crowds religion.  The temple crowds religion is an abomination to God and a hinderance to men knowing the true touch of the Lord… the leaders of the temple crowd (those who build their own kingdoms or profit from Gods people) become indignant at this type of talk even today.

Comments
  1. Mark D Ketchum says:

    One of those many posts that you have that I almost entirely disagree with you interpretation of the text of Scripture on. Alot of generalizing going on. But, alas, we can’t all agree.

    Christian music has helped immensely in my journey with Christ… in fact I can’t even listen to secular music anymore, means nothing to me. Maybe “some” denominations, but certainly not any I have been a part of. I don’t judge the reason behind why pastors put their names on the board outside of their Church, but I am sure it is not for the reasons you maintain… well, maybe some.

    I also note that many house churches today ignore the rest of Acts 38:42-47, and focus only verse 46… “They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. 43 Everyone was filled with awe, and many wonders and miraculous signs were done by the apostles. 44 All the believers were together and had everything in common. 45 Selling their possessions and goods, they gave to anyone as he had need. 46 Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, 47 praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.”

    I don’t know any who have given away all their possessions. Isn’t that the model?

  2. Sean Scott says:

    Hi Ketch,

    Could you give your interpretation and application of the above scripture?

    IN Christ,

    Sean

    • Sean Scott says:

      Hi Ketch,

      Regarding Christian Music I would say there was a time early on in my Christian walk were, in ignorance, I too was blessed by many of the songs I heard. Thankfully later the Lord opened my eyes to understand and see how it was all just another market to make money. If the artist wanted make music for the Lord they would do so and not charge. Jesus said “freely you have received, freely give”. And yes there are people who actually do obey Jesus in this (www.christourlife.ca). <- free christian worship

      Can you imagine King David charging a fee to get a copy of the Psalms he wrote when inspired by God? You can get 5 Psalms for $10 or $30 Psalms for $20 and if you order today we'll throw in psalms 119? How is that any different that what the Christian Musicians are doing who are supposedly moved by the Spirit to write what they write?

      So just because God uses something to bless you with during a certain period in your life does not mean that God sanctions it. It's important to understand that.

  3. Sean Scott says:

    “Tearing down is never the end but it is often the beginning in such a day as this. The end is to make way a clear path to the kingdom of heaven that people may truly know the King who was lowly of heart and rode upon a donkey. To know healing from the curse and shame of sin and from the curse of the temple crowds religion. The temple crowds religion is an abomination to God and a hinderance to men knowing the true touch of the Lord… the leaders of the temple crowd (those who build their own kingdoms or profit from Gods people) become indignant at this type of talk even today.”

    Amen. Well said. And when they can’t argue with what you said they will say they don’t like the tone that you said it in. They’ll do anything accept address the real issue.

  4. fleebabylon says:

    Ketch said:
    “Christian music has helped immensely in my journey with Christ… in fact I can’t even listen to secular music anymore, means nothing to me.”

    For sure Mark, me too, but I am speaking in general as you said. I know even among mainstream christian music there are those who are true to the core, not in it for money, love the Lord, etc. I remember as a young christian taking my daughter to see a “dove award” winning christian singer at a large fancy almost mega church. The woman came out and basically said she had no idea where she was playing and could never attend a place like that because she and her husband went to a small inner-city church where the people were real. At the end of the show she turned off the lights and sang a worship song, after the song was over and the lights came on she was gone from the stage. She came over the loud speaker and said you wanted me out there so you could clap for me – but the Lord alone should receive your praise. I was very affected by that at the time and know there are true brethren for sure in the industry. I probably even have a few songs on my playlist that could be heard on christian radio.

    I did find the most incredible Christ exalting modern Christian music and hymns by a group that gives them out for free though and I think that is the right way. Sean made a good point about king David charging for psalms. In our day and age it’s almost like if something is given out for free then it can’t be that good… check out this album though by Christ our Life sometime. I know we hear that alot (you really need to check this out) but this one is top of my list as far as music goes.

    http://www.christourlife.ca/new_worship_cd.html

    Ketch said:
    ” Maybe “some” denominations, but certainly not any I have been a part of.”

    That is like me saying maybe some fornicators have sex outside of marriage, but not the ones I know??? If you create a name, advertise that name, and build that name alongside Gods kingdom that is error. All denominations by their sectarian nature are guilty of this, just as all fornicators by definition are guilty of having sex outside of marriage. The Lord did not ordain for His church to be built in the name of bapstists or nazarines. He shares His glory with no one!

    2Chronicals 6:9-10 Notwithstanding thou shalt not build the house; but thy son which shall come forth out of thy loins, he shall build the house for my name. The LORD therefore hath performed his word that he hath spoken: for I am risen up in the room of David my father, and am set on the throne of Israel, as the LORD promised, and have built the house for the name of the LORD God of Israel.

    Ketch said:
    “I don’t judge the reason behind why pastors put their names on the board outside of their Church, but I am sure it is not for the reasons you maintain… well, maybe some.”

    The word of God clearly warns us of men of selfish ambition, those who seek to build their own kingdoms in the name of Jesus. I do agree though that some pastors do this out of tradition and not out of selfish ambition of heart. It is still wrong.

    Luke 20:45-47 Then in the audience of all the people he said unto his disciples, Beware of the scribes, which desire to walk in long robes, and love greetings in the markets, and the highest seats in the synagogues, and the chief rooms at feasts; Which devour widows’ houses, and for a shew make long prayers: the same shall receive greater damnation.

    Ketch said:
    “I don’t know any who have given away all their possessions. Isn’t that the model?”

    They gave away as there was need. I have a good brother that has slept on the floor of his rented mostly unfurnished house because he gives his money away to missions, the poor, and other brothers in need. I only know this through personal reasons, he would never tell anybody about this. In fact he would be embarrassed and feel like a pharisee if he even knew I was typing this (thankfully he doesn’t go on the internet though).

    I am sorry if you do not know people like that and only know people who sit in pews and build up the names of men and denominations on Sundays and Wednesdays. That blurb really says alot though Mark. You basically said since most house churches fall short of new testament christianity then that justifies the unbiblical religious system that you take part in.

    No it doesn’t Mark, and I pray better things for you friend. I hope you will not settle for anything less then the radical new testament life, even if you still feel the need to mix in the Sunday service with it. This post wasn’t even about house vrs institution to begin with btw! It is one thing for us to fall short in an area of doctrine or practice as we all do, it is another to justify that short coming and excuse it. We will never grow that way.

    Phillipians 3:12-15 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.

    -Jim

  5. fleebabylon says:

    BTW-

    We are reading through 1 corinthians at our saturday meeting and I wanted to add I am in no way opposed to true men of God earning their living from the Gospel. I am talking about men of another sort when I use the term “those who profit from Gods people”.

    The laborer is worthy of his wages.

    • Emilio says:

      We can get our food for the gospel just as Paul said, but if we are not preaching the true gospel we have no right to take money from anybody from preaching.

      For you yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you, nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you. We did this, not because we do not have the right to such help, but in order to make ourselves a model for you to follow. For even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: “If a man will not work, he shall not eat.” 2 Thes 3:7-10

      The elders who direct the affairs of the church well are worthy of double honor, especially those whose work is preaching and teaching. For the Scripture says, “Do not muzzle the ox while it is treading out the grain,” and “The worker deserves his wages.” 1 Tim 5:17-18

      The elders are deserve to have wages, but Paul also remind them not to be lovers of money.

      Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Heb 13:5

      People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 2 Tim 3:2

      This prophesy of Paul came true today. They thought that religion is all about money…

      • fleebabylon says:

        Emilo-

        I agree with you that we can get our food from the Gospel, I posted this comment after I wrote the original piece to clear things up since I could easilly be misunderstood.

        “We are reading through 1 corinthians at our saturday meeting and I wanted to add I am in no way opposed to true men of God earning their living from the Gospel. I am talking about men of another sort when I use the term “those who profit from Gods people”.

        The laborer is worthy of his wages.

        -Jim

    • Emilio says:

      But is it really the true gospel that men are preaching today? I believe that most of the preachers today are preaching a different gospel and a different Jesus. Now these people are not worthy of accepting anything from other people it is better gave it to beggars or our parents. We have to follow Paul’s example he taken the lowest seat and never took money from the early churches.

      I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’” Acts 20:33-35

      They devour widows’ houses and for a show make lengthy prayers. Such men will be punished most severely.” Mk 12:40

Leave a Reply

