Maybe I’m lost

Posted: March 31, 2011 in christian living

Taken from http://proto-protestantism.blogspot.com/2011/03/link-and-few-comments-pertaining-to.html?showComment=1301535159800#c9093704349783520756

I read my Bible and I’m not reading it as some book of rules. I’m not reading it looking for codes, hidden meanings. I’m not reading it with my newspaper in hand trying to find the secret meaning behind current events. I’m not reading it to have my best life now, or to find seven secrets to a better marriage. I’m not reading it so I can work to take over the world or to affirm some kind of romanticized notions I have about the country I live in. I don’t want to read it to defend a political or theological tradition, to construct coherent philosophical systems that I can turn into political and cultural action.

I read it to know God and to be reconciled to Him. To know His ways and His character. I want to know the truth because it is true, because its the way the universe works.

I guess I just get upset because when I see those signs on Churches or when I listen to ‘christian’ radio….

I don’t know what god they’re worshipping. It’s not the one I know from the Bible. I’m not the standard. My experience isn’t the lens by which to look at these things, but when I listen to these christian leaders and how they view the church and the world, I’m left with a dilemma. Maybe I’m lost? I suppose they would say so. I am so antithetical to almost everything they stand for and care about it would seem we’re standing for two different religions.

Comments
  1. Loretta says:

    You got that right brother! I’m lost also– in the wilderness with Jesus. I used to call it “The Two Christianities”. Right now the movements in Christendom that are the most vexing to me are the “Worship America”, the “worship the (fill in physical ethnic group here)people”, and the “Take Dominion of the world thru Theocracy” movements… all which are related….. No thanks I’d rather be lost.

  2. Emilio says:

    I believed that we have to be in the beginning when God created man, uncorrupted, without stain, the likeness of God and his Son Jesus Christ. Today, we are being deceived in everything we saw today. The simple life, peace, with the knowledge of God’s will. Now it is our eyes to see which is really clean and unclean teaching, clean and unclean way of life.

    I think we have to imitate the way of life in early Israel and the early church.

    We are now in the time in the fulfillment of the prophesy of Paul.

    But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God — having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with them. They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over weak-willed women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires, always learning but never able to acknowledge the truth. Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so also these men oppose the truth — men of depraved minds, who, as far as the faith is concerned, are rejected.(2Ti. 3:1-8)

    We have to compare the saints early way of life to ours. It’s has a big difference… For instance many churches today like celebrations, birthdays, anniversaries.. these are not done by any holy people in the past but only the gentiles.
    The Pharaoh and Herod, these are pagans.

Leave a Reply

