An athiest, liar, or both?

Posted: April 4, 2012 in apostasy
Tags: , ,

Here is a response I left to a man that claims to be an athiest after having been a christian (and pastor) for 50 years.

Jim:
Bruce – There are many problems with your alleged testimony. Let me ask you a question. Were you truly born again (met Christ not in word but in reality and power) and now turned away from him or did you have a mental belief in Christ, earn a living from it, and now your mental belief is changed?

Kindly, Jim

Bruce:
Normally Jim I would use a few choice words to tell you want I think of your comment but I will respect the fact this is not my house,

Your use of the word alleged is offensive. It is my life, my story, my testimony and you don’t get to frame the storyline. I was every bit a Christian that you now are. I don’t care if that squares with your theology. It matters not to me whether or not you think or know I was never a Christian. I know. I give you this challenge…. Find one person who knew me as their pastor or a fellow colleague in the ministry who thought, at the time, I was not a Christian. Either I was deluded and an expert at deceiving people or your theologial premise fails when applied to real life.

That said, what the **** does this have to do with the point of the post? I won’t discuss this further with you. Come over to my house and we can discuss it there.

Jim:
That is my point, I could never say “I used to be married but now I dont believe that my wife ever exsited”. Such a statement would mean either:

A) I only imagined I was married, however powerful that imagination was (like I bought a second car to keep in the drive way, drew a picture of what I thought my wife might look like, etc)

B) I was married and am now so angry or hurt that I deny my estranged wife even existed

Either you were a false convert all along or you are an apostate and walked away from truly knowing Christ. This has nothing to do with theoolgy, just reality. I am not impressed with what people thought of you as a pastor either – modern church people are the easiest to trick into believing anything. If there is one thing I applaud it is you leaving the professional clergy that scripture knows nothing of. Maybe you will find Christ in the wilderness if you have never truly met Him. If not, I pray you find healing from what ever pain the religious beast system caused to you.

Please do not be angry at me and treat me as someone who deserves a few choice words. I would actually meet up with you if you lived near Detroit? My email is..

Jim

MORE:

In response, he has left very vile comment back at me. The fact of the matter is, he was either lying then, lying now, or is a mad man. His athiest and emergecnt church friends are having a field day with it but God has left them without excuse.

Comments
  1. ian vincent says:

    Romans 1 reveals that every Atheist is a liar.

    Good stuff bro, ya never know who might get convicted on the forum, when they read your posts.

  2. fleebabylon says:

    BRUCE SAID:
    “I give you this challenge…. Find one person who knew me as their pastor or a fellow colleague in the ministry who thought, at the time, I was not a Christian. ”

    JIM:
    A man says “I used to be married but now I dont believe that my wife ever exsited”.

    Such a statement would mean either:
    A) He only imagined he was married, however powerful that imagination was (like he bought a second car to keep in the drive way, drew a picture of what he thought his wife might look like, etc)

    B) He was married and am now is so angry or hurt that he will deny his estranged wife even existed

    Would it really be a sound defense for such a man to then say “Find one of my former co-wokers who thought at the time I wasn’t married”… we are entering into the twighlight zone here. Either you were born again and validate you knew the living Christ though you have walked away from him or you never knew Christ and your testimony is a lie. This is not rocket science.

    BRUCE SAID:
    “Either I was deluded and an expert at deceiving people or your theologial premise fails when applied to real life.”

    I have no theological premise so that only leaves one option Bruce… one your pride will not allow you to accept.

    -Jim

    http://defendingcontending.com/2012/04/01/whats-the-big-deal/

  3. ian vincent says:

    Remember Marjoe Gortner? He fooled everyone that he was a “pastor”, and later revealed that he was pretending.

    But everyone was convinced he was a Christian.

Leave a Reply

