So, you’re a calvinist?

Posted: May 24, 2012 in quotes
Tags: , , , , ,

“Moreover, God Himself has explicitly instructed us to kill heretics, to smite with the sword any city that abandons the worship of the true faith revealed by Him.” – John Calvin

“Whoever shall now contend that it is unjust to put heretics and blasphemers to death will knowingly and willingly incur their very guilt. This is not laid down on human authority; it is God who speaks and prescribes a perpetual rule for his Church.” – John Calvin

This is very similar to what I mentioned in a previous post about Martin Luthers’ hatred for jews. I find myself in a funny position as someone who **believes in the doctrines of Gods grace, yet still would have been killed along side my anibaptist brethren by Calvin and company back in the day. In fact, I find myself in the same position today. I will gladly take a brother, full of the love of Christ, who has a different idea about how election works itself out practically over someone who I agree more closely with their five points of doctrine yet has that religious spirit of murder in their hearts. Probably better to be found like Jesus Christ on the day of judgment than John Calvin or Martin Luther. Jesus said love your enemies.

edit ** meaning I give more emphasis to the free will of my holy sovereign father in heaven than I do to the free will of fallen man.

Comments
  1. ian vincent says:

    Scary stuff from Calvin and Luther. Enough to drive you to your Bible and just use that alone as your text book for this life.

  2. Loretta says:

    I’m with you (and the anabaptists), brother. May He increase our love to Christ and to the brethren, and our neighbors, and our enemies.

Leave a Reply

