More than rhetoric

Posted: May 25, 2012 in christian living
Tags: , ,

I was recently on my laptop at a coffee shop when a group of older men came in and sat near me. They were very friendly, though spoke a bit crudely as unsaved people do, and borrowed a couple of chairs from the table I was at since I was alone. About an hour after they arrived they started talking about a local big named pastor that was recently car jacked. The thieves had beat him up, stealing his 15,000 dollar diamond encrusted rolex before driving away in his luxury SUV. This has been all over the news here in Detroit. Anyway, one of the guys starts talking really loud saying things like “what kind of people are dumb enough to go to this guys church” and all other sorts of things about how he will not go to church anymore because the last time he went they started pressuring him right away to tithe. He made a joke about how he was thinking about becoming a pastor so he could get rich by absolving peoples sins.

I put my head down in my hands so grieved. The Lord quickened to me “My name is blasphemed among the gentiles on account of them”. The “them” was not the men sitting next to me, it is the leaders and supporters of the harlot church. By this time complete strangers from the coffee shop were joining in the conversation. My heart started racing, Lord should I say something? This was surely an out of season moment for me. I was just about finished with my work so I packed up my laptop. The guys actually stopped their conversation for a second to wish me a good day and I was able to encourage them not to let organized religion and all of the hypocrites keep them from the love of God in Christ Jesus. They actually seemed to receive this small word I shared and I pray somehow God may use my two mites worth of Gospel truth in these men’s hearts.

This is what I blog about, not just to point out how filthy the counterfit harlot church is, but to see the Glory of God and truth of the Gospel made known to guys like these. His name is blasphemed among the nations. Yet even those doing the blaspheming know that the harlot is not of God. Only those who sit in her midst, handed over to blindness and empty tradition believe the lie. The average lost guy knows better, there is a special judgment in the last days reserved only for church goers who don’t love the truth. What a time and place to live, where true believers have to flee from just about everything called christianity. Has there ever been a time like this since the dark ages?

Jesus help us to be your witnesses to a mocking world that has not seen true Christianity in our day.

Comments
  1. Sean Scott says:

    Amen. May the Lord use us all to reflect who He truly is, and what His church truly is.

    “What a time and place to live, where true believers have to flee from just about everything called christianity. Has there ever been a time like this since the dark ages?”

    No, but surely it means our Lord is close at hand. What a day it will be when the curtains close on this dark age and we find ourselves forever with one who loved us and gave His life for us!

    Maranatha! Come Lord Jesus.

  2. ian vincent says:

    I’ll echo that, there’s not much time left. Maranatha!

  3. JW says:

    I feel the pain of this scenerio and I have been in that similiar situation many times. What you said is how I would address it. Separating the mess from the truth in a non confrontational way.

    From time to time I have these same thoughts as well but I don’t voice them because I am human but I don’t want to let those thoughts to become the thoughts of others and add to the mess out there.

  4. JW says:

    Just to add a little insult to injury I found this little article just minutes after posting to your blog.

    http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20120524/METRO/205240437/Carjack-victim-Winans-driving-suspended-license?odyssey=tab|topnews|text|FRONTPAGE

  5. fleebabylon says:

    Of course I want to add that I am not sticking up for lost mockers, they walk in darkness and love when professing christians are found to be hypocrites. It makes them feel justified in their sin and in a sense, they will be justified in that they have less damnation than the hyopcrite does on the day of judgment.

    Does your life justify the lost man or condemn him?

    http://preachingjesus.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/does-your-life-condemn-it-should-3/

Leave a Reply

