Wrong choices

Posted: December 12, 2012 in christian living, ecclesia, Jesus

So many times I meet a brother who asks me a question about a doctrine and offers me two wrong choices that I must pick from for my answer…

Well meaning brother:  “Hey Jim, does 2 + 2 = 3 or 5?”

Jim:  “I don’t think it equals either”

Well meaning brother:  “You seem like the kind of guy who thinks it equals 5”

Jim:  “No I don’t”

Well meaning brother:  “Oh so you believe  it equals 3, how can you believe such a lie”

Jim:  “I don’t think it equals 3 either”

Well meaning brother:  “Well obviously you do or else you would have said 5!”

=============================================================

Just substitute the numbers 3 and 5 with any opposing pet doctrines to get the full effect.

 

Comments
  1. The futility of man. Until He ascends the throne and convinces God Himself of his own wisdom and ways he’ll never be content. Not only do I believe some men will attempt to do this facing Jesus Himself, they may even in eternity be cursing God for His so-called injustice toward them.
    As to man’s questions I take Jesus’ approach. I simply ask questions back. They don’t really have any answers to reality, only for their own pre-concieved notions and opinions.

  2. Scarlett says:

    Beware of preconceived notions and don’t believe everything you think, just because you think it.

  3. Mickey Merrie says:

    How about this? “But Jim! 2 plus 2 is 4, and 2 times 2 is 4, so then 3+3 is the same as 3×3 and 4+4 is the same as 4×4!” Therefore we have a receipe for everything and it all works….as long as we follow the receipe, and don’t bother with the actual contending over the math.

  4. Mickey Merrie says:

    Appreciate you bro!

Leave a Reply

