True elders

Posted: April 14, 2013 in christian living, ecclesia, Jesus

My comment from Witnessing encouragement blog

True elders build up the younger saints by their continual way of life they live openly before them. True elders teach things in the context of real relationships in real life with real saints (though also at a larger weekly meeting too). True elders are simple saints who are mature and tested. If they start to exalt themselves above the body, put on religious garbs, use a religious title, or dominate the meetings week in and out we can safely conclude they are not mature and are not to be recognized as elders. Worse yet we may find that they are not even true brethren.

Luke 20:45 Then in the audience of all the people he said unto his disciples, Beware of the scribes, which desire to walk in long robes, and love greetings in the markets, and the highest seats in the synagogues, and the chief rooms at feasts; Which devour widows’ houses, and for a shew make long prayers: the same shall receive greater damnation.

Comments
  1. That’s a lot of truth in 5 sentences, bro!

    You make sense to me …

  2. amongtheforgotten says:

    Hello Jim.

    Looking back, if I desired to meet with one of the “elders” in any church, it wasn’t just difficult, I often had to make an appointment. In one case a few minutes with the pastor took 3 weeks advance notice.

    Other than some brief interaction at church picnics etc, I hardly remember any involvement whatsoever with elders in any of those places. I sure don’t recall being invited over to dinner or being welcomed in some capacity into their individual lives. There was always a disconnect, a very purposeful one from the supposed elite class and those less than ones.

    I praise God every time I think about how hard I wanted to be a church leader, how hard I tried, prayed etc and how God just wouldn’t allow it. Fifteen years of continual failure and yet now I see, now I know why.

    The need is great to bare one’s heart, soul and life before those who say and claim we desire to help. Anyone can quote the Bible, a few may be bold enough to speak and a few may even suffer for Christ. All that is good and yet it amounts to nothing if my life is not laid bare and my real self crucified for all to see.

    Show me any cross-carrying believer and regardless of age I’ll show you one useful to the master.

    Thanks for being one Jim, and reminding us of how it’s Jesus who makes all these wrongs right in His time.

  3. fleebabylon says:

    1Peter 5:2 shepherd the flock of God that is among you, exercising oversight, not under compulsion, but willingly, as God would have you; not for shameful gain, but eagerly;

Leave a Reply

