It could have been me

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Jesus

Not too long ago, on my way home from work, I saw an inebriated kid cause a big accident. I first saw him in my rear view mirror flying up the road swerving into oncoming traffic and running people off the road. I pulled over to the side of the road as I was several blocks ahead of him. He drove by me then ran the light and crashed into two cars. After calling the police the first thought I had was “that could have been me if I hadn’t moved over”.

It could have been me whose car was smashed, me who was injured, it could have been me. I was very grateful to the Lord at that moment. Then I fell under such conviction of the Holy Spirit as the Lord showed me something much deeper. It could have been me who was driving that truck high or drunk, me serving the devil, me destroying life, me plowing into that intersection. That is the path I was on before the Lord saved me by His unmerited grace.

So the next time I see a robbery took place at the store down the road, a drunk driver caused a wreck, someone killed someone else over drugs, I will never put myself in the “could have been me” victim mentality. Now ‘it could have been me’ will have an entirely new meaning. It could have been me but Jesus Christ bore my sin, reached out me while I was still a depraved sinner, gave me a new heart, a new mind, and a new life in Him.

Ephesians 4:20 But that is not the way you learned Christ!– assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus, to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

Comments
  1. amongtheforgotten says:

    Amen. It could have been me too.

  2. Rachel says:

    What a great humble thought! And I too am thankful for this!

Leave a Reply

