Unforgiving

Posted: July 27, 2013 in christian living, Jesus

All sin in the Christian life is harmful and dishonors Jesus. Yet the sin of being unforgiving is leavened with such a deadly poison within it that every professing believer owes it to themselves to examine if any such thing is within them. Their is no forgiveness of sin to anyone who is not willing to forgive others for sinning against them. Such a statement may not fit into the theology of this church age, but it fits perfectly into the theology of my Lord Jesus Christ. There is wonderful freedom and life in forgiving others because the Lord forgave you.

Matthew 6:14 For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you, but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

Luke 17:3 Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.” The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!” And the Lord said, “If you had faith like a grain of mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you.”

Comments
  1. fleebabylon says:

    If you have faith as a mustard seed you can say to bitterness, past hurts, and any other issues you are struggling with ‘be uprooted from my heart’ and it will obey you.. [edit]

  2. amongtheforgotten says:

    I have faith- faith in God’s ability to do for me what I cannot and often will not do for myself. God knows me well, that I would harbor hatred and justify it to my dying day. I need something, someone beyond myself, beyond my own confidence and abilities.

    God knows that my forgiveness is in relation to the degree of hurt, yet His grace knows not those bounds. My forgiveness is in word only, His in embracing those who have hurt Him.

    The decision to forgive is not one made after the fact or action, but prior to it……..as forgiveness itself has nothing to do with what was done, but actually relates to what is now….a present reality within me.

    • fleebabylon says:

      awesome brother

      ” I need something, someone beyond myself, beyond my own confidence and abilities.”

      “yet His grace knows not those bounds.”

      Amen! Those in Christ have the love of God shed abroad in our hearts. This is a love that goes far beyond our ability or reach.

Leave a Reply

